Twitch: Why will the platform remove the host feature as of October 3? | streaming | video games | Spain | Mexico | Colombia | Argentinian | TECHNOLOGY

announced that it will remove the popular host feature on October 3. The platform explained that, currently, this tool does not meet their expectations and therefore, from that date, ‘Suggested Channels’ will appear instead.

The hosting mode will disappear on October 3, 2022. After this date, the ‘/host’ chat command and Stream Manager ‘Host channel’ quick action will no longer be available. Also, the name ‘Auto Hosting’ will be changed to ‘Suggested Channels’ in your channel settings”, indicates on their FAQ page.

LOOK: Disney Illusion Island will be released in 2023 by the hand of Nintendo Switch

Why is Twitch removing the host feature?

As the platform explains, this tool was created so that streamers can share other channels. However, over time, the function has not been superseded by others. “We introduced hosted mode in 2014 to make it easy for streamers to offer their viewers another stream to watch when they go offline. Since its launch, We’ve seen that streamers prefer to share their viewers with other streamers to help their community grow. Therefore, we have introduced functions that help you achieve it.”, states Twitch.

Twitch hosts were not redirecting to the other channel, instead the channel was streaming within the first channel. Namely, unlike raids, this one didn’t send viewers to the channel, so they couldn’t interact with the second streamer. To do so, they had to take another step and manually enter the second channel.

LOOK: Black Panther and Captain America star in new game led by Uncharted director

When you start a raid, all viewers of your channel are redirected to the destination channel page. Hosting, however, embeds the target channel’s video directly on your channel page. This way no viewers on the host’s page are redirected: they all stay on your page and in your chat”, indicates the platform.

For this reason, for Twitch, the host role no longer has a purpose. “We have made the decision to remove this feature because the experience it provides to viewers does not match their expectations of Twitch. Viewers want to interact with a streamer when they are live and hosting mode prevents this from happening. Preventing viewers from interacting with the streamer they are watching also limits the growth potential of a streamer and their community, because they are unable to form meaningful connections with those new viewers.”, he adds.

However, for many streamers, this feature helped their followers learn about the channels they recommended. When the streamer wasn’t live and left a host to someone else, users who were “late” would see the other streamer automatically, without the need to have been during the live to be redirectedas it happens with the raids.

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.