Bukele insults Aznar, Macri and other former presidents: “Corrupt, looters and some even murderers”

These 21 former Heads of State and Government of Spain and Latin America urged on Wednesday through a statement to the General Secretariat and the Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) to act to “promote the normalization of democratic institutions” in El Salvador.

Nayib Bukele took up on his Twitter account a post by Juan Pappier, senior researcher at the Americas Division of Human Rights Watch (HRW), in which he shared the letter from the Democratic Initiative of Spain and the Americas (Idea). “A letter signed by corrupt people, looters and some of them, even murderers. All hated by their people. I would be very concerned if I received their support. Thank God, it is not like that,” says a message posted on Bukele’s verified account in Twitter.

Among the former presidents who signed the letter are José María Aznar, Óscar Arias (Costa Rica), Felipe Calderón and Vicente Fox (Mexico), Andrés Pastrana (Colombia), Mireya Moscoso (Panama), Luis Alberto Lacalle (Uruguay) and Mauricio Macri ( Argentina).

Bukele’s candidacy, underlines the statement, would violate the principle of “alternating in the exercise of the Presidency” and other mandates of the Salvadoran Constitution to prevent whoever has “exercised the Presidency from continuing in his functions not even one more day” .

The former presidents consider that “if the intention of the current president of El Salvador materializes”, they will be in the presence, “as expressly indicated in article 20 of the Inter-American Democratic Charter, of an alteration of the constitutional order that seriously affects its democratic order.”

The possibility of Bukele being re-elected for a second consecutive term in 2024 was opened in September 2021, when a questioned Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of Justice modified a criterion for interpreting article 152 of the Magna Carta that had been issued in 2014. Before that resolution, whoever held the Presidency had to wait 10 years after the end of his term.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.